The First Amendment Online conference

Thursday, March 1, 2001

At First Amendment Center/New York, 580 Madison Ave.

To RSVP: Call 212/317-7592 or email Euraine Brooks at

Noon — Lunch program: Free Expression and the Net

  • Welcome: Adam Clayton Powell III, vice president/technology and programs, The Freedom Forum
  • Jill Blackman, Chicago Tribune, Online News Association
  • Speaker: Li Lu, founder and general partner, Himalaya Capital
  • 1:45 p.m. — Technology demonstration: Mobile Journalist’s Workstation of the Future

  • John Pavlik, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
  • Elias Gagas, Columbia University School of Engineering
  • 2:15 — First Amendment Parity and New Media

  • Moderator: Karl Idsvoog,
  • Robert Corn-Revere, Hogan and Hartson L.L.P.
  • Declan McCullagh, Wired News
  • Peggy Miles, International Webcasting Association
  • Omar Wasow,
  • 3:15 — Technology Demonstration: Immersive News

  • Larry Pryor, University of Southern California, Annenberg School for Communication
  • 3:45 — Filters, Content Controls and Speech

  • Moderator: Paul McMasters, First Amendment Center
  • Ann Beeson, staff attorney, American Civil Liberties Union
  • Graeme Browning, author, “Electronic Democracy”
  • Brant Houston, executive director, Investigative Reporters and Editors
  • Steven Levy, technology columnist, Newsweek
  • 4:45 — Filters and the Swedish Experience

  • Stig Roland Rask, Foundation for Knowledge and Competence Development, Sweden
  • 5 p.m. — Technology Demonstration: Remote Sensing and Civilian Satellites

  • Mark Brender, director of Washington operations, Space Imaging
  • Dan Dubno, technologist and producer, CBS News
  • 5:30 — Remote Sensing, Linking and Privacy

  • Moderator: Jill Blackman
  • Guy Berger, Head of Department, Journalism and Media Studies, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • Jonathan Hart, Dow, Lohnes and Albertson
  • Stephen Miller, New York Times
  • Elizabeth Osder, Online News Association
  • 6:30 — Conclusion

  • Adam Powell
  • 6:45-7:30 p.m. — reception