Hodding Carter III

Tuesday, March 7, 2006

Hodding Carter III, a well-known print and broadcast journalist and high
official in the Carter administration, was president and CEO of the Knight
Foundation from February 1998 until his retirement in July 2005. He is now on
faculty as University Professor of leadership and public policy at the
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Under his leadership, the Knight Foundation made $15 million in grants in
recent years to further freedom-of-information projects and initiatives.
Recipients included the National Freedom of Information Coalition, the Reporters
Committee for Freedom of the Press, the National Security Archive, the American
Society of Newspaper Editors, Radio-Television News Directors Association and
several investigative reporters groups, including Investigative Reporters and
Editors. The foundation also has funded Sunshine Week, now in its second

Carter held the Knight Chair in Journalism at the University of Maryland
College of Journalism and from 1965-66 he was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard. He
worked on two presidential campaigns for Lyndon Johnson and Jimmy Carter. In
January 1977, Carter became spokesman of the Department of State and Assistant
Secretary of State for Public Affairs, serving until 1980. He then launched
a career in television, and has since served as host, anchor, panelist,
correspondent and reporter for a variety of public-affairs television shows.

Carter’s father was a newspaper publisher and editor in the South whose
editorials on racial and religious tolerance for the family-owned Greenville,
Miss., Delta Democrat-Times won the Pulitzer Prize in 1946. Hodding
Carter III graduated summa cum laude in June 1957 with a bachelor’s degree from
Princeton University. After serving in the military, he returned to Greenville
in 1959, where he spent nearly 18 years as reporter-editorial writer, managing
editor and editor and associate publisher of the Delta

He has written two books, The Reagan Years and The South Strikes

Inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2006.