2 editors win McGruder diversity awards from APME

Saturday, September 17, 2011

The 10th annual Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity Leadership, sponsored by the recently renamed Associated Press Media Editors, goes to Gregory Moore, editor of The Denver Post, and Sherrie Marshall, editor of The Macon (Ga.) Telegraph.

“The awards are given annually to individuals, newsrooms or teams of journalists who embody the spirit of McGruder, a former executive editor of the Detroit Free Press, former managing editor of The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer and a graduate of Kent State University,” APME said. McGruder, who died in 2002, was a past president of APME and a former member of the American Society of News Editors’ board of directors.

“McGruder was a relentless diversity champion,” APME said, adding that Moore and Marshall were honored for their “longstanding commitment to diversity in newspaper content and in newsroom recruiting and staff development.”

Honored Sept. 15 at the annual APME conference in Denver, the editors each received $2,500 and a leadership trophy.

Co-sponsors of the awards were the Free Press, The Plain Dealer, Kent State University and the Freedom Forum, parent foundation of the First Amendment Center.

Tags: , ,